Markets
markets

Oklo up as analysts spotlight “permits progress”

Oklo shares crept up early Wednesday after reporting a wider-than-expected full-year loss Tuesday after the close.

The company isn’t well covered on Wall Street, but a smattering of analysts spotlighted growing capex plans by the company — which not only has no profits, but no revenues — as a potential issue. On the other hand, they gave credit to the nuclear power startup for progress in securing key government permits and approvals.

Barclays (price target: $82, rating: “overweight”): “Oklo advanced its momentum with DOE approval of a nuclear safety design agreement for Aurora at INL [Idaho National Laboratory], paving the way for 2028 operations. Management guided higher 2026-27 capex, strengthened fuel supply investments, and enters 2026 with an increase in liquidity.”

Citi (price target: $73.50, rating: “neutral/high risk”): “Despite strong execution, reaction may skew negative given higher than anticipated 4Q Opex, continued capital raise in Jan, and robust 2026 capex.”

Needham & Co. (price target: $73, rating: “buy”): “The company did not disclose Aurora unit costs, FY2026 CapEx ($350–450MM) came in above expectations, and [Aurora/Idaho National Laboratory] timing shifted modestly to 2028. We lower our PT to $73 (from $135) on reduced outer-year deployment (~3 GW by 2035) and a lower multiple, but maintain Buy. Execution, cost visibility, and fuel supply remain key gating factors.”

As of December 31, 2025, the company was well capitalized to continue burning cash, reporting cash and marketable securities worth some ~$1.4 billion.

Barclays (price target: $82, rating: “overweight”): “Oklo advanced its momentum with DOE approval of a nuclear safety design agreement for Aurora at INL [Idaho National Laboratory], paving the way for 2028 operations. Management guided higher 2026-27 capex, strengthened fuel supply investments, and enters 2026 with an increase in liquidity.”

Citi (price target: $73.50, rating: “neutral/high risk”): “Despite strong execution, reaction may skew negative given higher than anticipated 4Q Opex, continued capital raise in Jan, and robust 2026 capex.”

Needham & Co. (price target: $73, rating: “buy”): “The company did not disclose Aurora unit costs, FY2026 CapEx ($350–450MM) came in above expectations, and [Aurora/Idaho National Laboratory] timing shifted modestly to 2028. We lower our PT to $73 (from $135) on reduced outer-year deployment (~3 GW by 2035) and a lower multiple, but maintain Buy. Execution, cost visibility, and fuel supply remain key gating factors.”

As of December 31, 2025, the company was well capitalized to continue burning cash, reporting cash and marketable securities worth some ~$1.4 billion.

More Markets

See all Markets
markets

SpaceX gets a wave of bullish ratings from Wall Street analysts

SpaceX received more than a dozen positive analyst calls on Tuesday — including from major Wall Street banks — as they initiate coverage on Elon Musk’s space and AI company.

SpaceX went public on June 12 at a $2.2 trillion valuation, the largest debut in history. While the company hasn’t yet posted a profit, it seems to have convinced Wall Street that it will get there and grow its valuation on the way.

Of the at least 17 analysts that gave a rating on Tuesday, all but one gave it a “buy” or “outperform” rating. MoffettNathanson was "neutral."

The ratings come as SpaceX joined the Nasdaq 100 index, a benchmark tech-heavy basket of companies that underpins millions of portfolios. The inclusion adds built-in demand for the stock from index funds and ETFs.

Still, SpaceX fell more than 5% on Tuesday amid a broader sell-off, and is currently effectively flat from its opening price of $150 a share.

Latest Stories

Sherwood Media, LLC and Chartr Limited produce fresh and unique perspectives on topical financial news and are fully owned subsidiaries of Robinhood Markets, Inc., and any views expressed here do not necessarily reflect the views of any other Robinhood affiliate, including Robinhood Markets, Inc., Robinhood Financial LLC, Robinhood Securities, LLC, Robinhood Crypto, LLC, Robinhood Money, LLC, Robinhood U.K. Ltd, Robinhood Derivatives, LLC, Robinhood Gold, LLC, Robinhood Asset Management, LLC, Robinhood Credit, Inc., Robinhood Ventures DE, LLC and, where applicable, its managed investment vehicles.